My Birthday Wish

I love birthdays because it always reminds me to stop and reflect on all the good in my life.  Two daughters that I can get endless hugs and kisses from.  A husband that supports our family by saving lives everyday.  A loyal dog that follows me everywhere I go.  New homeowners and surviving months of remodeling.  Flowers delivered from my best friend.  Friends and family sending hellos and birthday wishes.  A celebratory lemon drop martini.  Surviving our first family dinner out at a restaurant since my youngest was born 2 months ago.  Continuing a week-long dessert feast for my sweet tooth…

It’s easy to remember to cherish all the big and small blessings around me on my birthday, but the tricky part is slowing down the other 364 days of the year and not get too affected by the unimportant drama that can drag me down.  Being late to school.  Waiting in a long line at the grocery store.  Fighting exhausting.  Losing my patience.  Paying bills.  Organizing files.  Keeping the house clean.  Worrying about my weight.  Dealing with people that I disagree with.  The endless to-do list…

And then I read an email about my childhood family friend who I went to high school with.  Newly married, has a baby, normal life, and just diagnosed with Stage 4 Pancreatic Cancer.

What. Is. Going. On.

The answer?  Life.  This is life.  Temporary, unpredictable, cruel, and always too short.  As much as I try to control and plan ahead, life will take its own course.  I must accept that.  My friend has to accept that.

Everyday may not be my birthday, but beginning today, I will treat each day as if it were.  Because everyday deserves a little celebration, a little reflection, a little indulgence, and lots and lots of big hugs and kisses, regardless how out of control life seems.  Life is too short to look at the glass half empty.  It is always half full.

My birthday wish?  Stop and reflect on all the good in your life, right now.  Reach out to a long-lost friend and say hello.  Eat slower and savor each bite you chew.  Show your family you love them.  Filter out what is truly a big deal, and what is just drama that needs to be let go.  Tell stories and share with each other.  Let’s treat everyday like it is our birthday.

2 thoughts on “My Birthday Wish

  1. I’m reaching out to my long-lost friend and saying “hello”! πŸ™‚ Happy birthday, Grace! You’re so beautiful inside-out! πŸ™‚ Hugs and kisses from London πŸ™‚ xoxo

Leave a Reply

