Halloween Pregnancy Costume 2014: Turtle

Halloween Front Door Decorations

Last year, we dressed up as a family around my daughter’s choice of being a “fish” for Halloween, which specifically turned into a “Finding Nemo” family costume theme.  This year, my 3-year-old daughter chose to be a “turtle,” so of course we had to find a way to create a “Turtle” family costume theme.  One factor that makes this year different than any other Halloween is that I am 7 months pregnant… so I began brainstorming how to incorporate my pregnant belly into our costume theme.  I found other pregnancy ideas where people painted their bellies, but I didn’t want to expose my belly to the cold, rainy, weather, and also I’m  not much of an artist!  Here’s what I came up with instead:

1) Find a Green Shirt and Black Outer Layer

I was lucky that I had one green t-shirt, which had now become tight-fitting around the belly.  There were logos on the front and back, but fortunately they got all covered up by my outside black jacket.  I was able to zip the jacket on the top half, and I folded the bottom edges back towards my waist to create an open space to work with.

Halloween Pregnancy Costume Making a Turtle

The first step: finding a tight fitting green shirt and a black jacket that could zip halfway open!

2) Create a Turtle Shell Pattern

The easiest thing I found were sticker felt sheets at Michael’s Arts & Crafts store.  They had many shades of green, but I liked the sparkly ones the best.

Michaels Green Sparkly Felt Sticker

8 1/2 x 11 sticker sheet of green sparkly felt paper.

I only had one 8 1/2 x 11 sheet, so I just tried to maximize the space by cutting 6 circles and 1 larger oval (cut in half for the center piece).  I arranged them as symmetrically as I could on my belly to create a turtle shell.

Halloween Pregnancy Costume Turtle Shell

Love these sticker felt sheets. Just cut and stick!

3) Create a Turtle Head, Arms, Legs, and Tail

I also bought a plain green sticker felt sheet which I used to cut out a triangle head, 2 arm flippers, 2 legs, and a small triangle tail.  Get some fun wiggly eyes too!

Green Felt Sticker Sheet Michaels

8 1/2 x 11 green felt sticker sheet from Michael’s Arts & Crafts.

I placed the head at the base of my black jacket, right above the turtle shell, and the two arm flippers on the side flaps of my black jacket.  The two leg pieces fit under my hip bones on my pants, and the tail in the center of my pants.  Again, stickers are awesome.

Halloween Pregnancy Costume Turtle Snorkler Diver

4) Snorkler Finishing Touches

I had our snorkling/diver mask set from last year’s costume, so it was perfect to reuse.

Scuba Diving Snorkel and Mask

Wear black from head to toe, put on the snorkeling set, and place your hands around the belly as if you are “holding” the turtle… and there you have it!  A Halloween pregnancy costume using the belly as a turtle!

Halloween Pregnancy Costume Snorkler and Turtle

Look what I found while snorkeling! A 7 month old (female) turtle!

See the rest of the family dressed up all as turtles here: Halloween Family Costume 2014: Turtles!

One thought on “Halloween Pregnancy Costume 2014: Turtle

  1. Pingback: 21 Pregnant Women Who Took Their Costumes To The Next Level | FeedFed

Leave a Reply

