New Gentle Flow Class at Marin Power Yoga

Carl-Bard

I am super excited to announce that I will be teaching two Gentle Flow yoga classes at Marin Power Yoga in San Anselmo starting on January 22nd, from 10:45am-11:45am every Monday and Wednesday!

A couple months ago after I first moved to Marin, I started actively searching for new places to teach.  Being a new and unknown person is SO difficult, and finding a place where I can fit in and be accepted has been a humbling process.  Most studios and fitness centers already have a well-established schedule of classes and they have no room for new instructors.  The majority of these places chose to ignore my emails and phone call requests to offer teaching or substituting classes.  Even after personally taking classes and directly speaking to instructors afterwards, I often felt like an insignificant, small, and invisible person by the way some people treated me. A few places simply responded, “We want you to come and take classes regularly here before we consider you,” which is understandable and fair, but really, I was looking for a job, and spending $20 per class everyday was not something I could afford.  The past few months have turned out to be a challenging lesson in patience and faith.

What pleasantly surprised me about Marin Power Yoga was how the co-owners, Jamie Ginsberg and Eric Tabora, initially responded to my email asking if there were teaching opportunities.  Instead of not replying, or saying “There are no openings.”, or saying “We want you to pay our studio $20 for every yoga class you take,” Jamie and Eric took a different approach.  They said:

“We do not have any openings right now, but we will be expanding our class schedule over the coming months. Our internal policy is we want teachers to practice at the studio and integrate in to what and how we are teaching. This supports you and us as we will both know if it is a good fit. As a teacher you can practice here for free, this is designed to make it easy for you to practice with us!  Come in and introduce yourself and let’s go from there!”

Wow.  Now that is what I call a welcoming and friendly response.  I knew immediately that Marin Power Yoga was the place that I would love to be a part of, if not as a teacher, at least as a student.  I want to be a part of a community that is loving, that is non-judgmental, that is accepting and open-minded.  And they offer the best yoga studio price I have ever ever ever seen.  $70 a month for unlimited classes.  Compare that to $15 to $20 per class at all other yoga studios (seriously).  Marin Power Yoga has created an affordable, yet outstanding, studio for yogis to belong to.

Well, I have been happily taking amazing classes with the Marin Power Yoga staff for about three months now, and I am honored that Jamie and Eric have asked me to join their staff starting next week.  I am so grateful that I can truly call Marin Power Yoga my new yoga home.  If you live or work near Marin, please join me for Gentle Flow yoga on Mondays and Wednesdays at 10:45am!  Yay!

Click here if you would like to read my blog post on the Marin Power Yoga official website describing the new Gentle Flow class I will be teaching.

2 thoughts on “New Gentle Flow Class at Marin Power Yoga

  1. Grace,
    I have only been able to take your class once so far (at MPY), but I LOVED it! You are a wonderful teacher and I look forward to many more. I have been telling other yogis to do themselves a huge favor and take your classes.
    I am so glad that you have joined Marin Power Yoga.
    You rock!

    • Oh Nathalie,
      So happy you found my blog and thank you for your sweet sweet words. It really means a lot to hear your feedback. Thank you for sharing! Btw, I’ll be teaching Power now on Mondays and Fridays at noon in addition to the Gentle Flow classes, so maybe I’ll see you in one of those !!! =)

      Grace

Leave a Reply

