Embracing Change

Golden Gate Bridge to Marin

Crossing the Golden Gate Bridge from San Francisco into the beautiful Marin County.

Less than three weeks ago, I moved to San Rafael in Marin County with my family.  I really can’t complain.  Marin County has the highest life expectancy in the United States for women at 85 years old, and fifth-highest life expectancy for men at 81 years old.  It is beautiful in Marin, with many walking/hiking spots such as the Muir Woods Redwood Forests, Mount Tamalpais, Marin Headlands, and Point Reyes.  It is a great place to raise a child because of its safe neighborhoods, friendly people and communities, and schools are top-notch.  And it is the home of my favorite ice cream brand, Three Twins!

Despite all of the wonderful factors above, change is challenging.  For one, just the physical effort of moving from one place to another is an absolute headache!  It is exhausting to do by yourself, so we decided to hire someone to help us load and unload the moving truck.  Unfortunately, hiring help means sometimes you end up with a few broken or missing items…

Moving Inventory List

Our moving inventory list showing a few damaged and missing items… still.

Damaged Bookshelf During Moving

Hmmm… guess there weren’t enough blankets wrapped around this bookshelf.

Broken Lamp

Moving lamps is always one of the trickiest items…

Also, change means a lot of unknowns.  Changing schools means making new friends.  Changing jobs means tackling a steep initial learning curve.  Changing homes means getting to know your neighborhood and where everything is.  Change is taking us out of our comfort zone, and it can be scary sometimes.  I have only had a handful of “big” moves from San Diego, to Hong Kong, to Los Angeles, and now to Marin.  I know personally, I tend to hold on too tightly to what’s comfortable and I resist change.  Then I always find myself a little lost, a little sad, and a little unhappy.  My fear of change creates a negative attitude.

So what is the solution???

Be proactive, let go of what’s comfortable, and embrace change. 

My husband started his new job last week, and on the first day of his work, he decided to surprise everyone and have lunch catered.  Obviously, everyone was incredibly shocked that the new employee would buy lunch, but it was a gesture that was much appreciated.  As a result, it has helped him to get to know his colleagues better at the workplace.  Be proactive.

My daughter also started her first day of preschool this week.  It was her first time in any kind of “school,” and up until this point, she has pretty much been in the comfort of our home with mommy.  Now that she is a toddler, we decided she should start socializing more with friends and learning how to follow a daily schedule and routine.  Dropping her off the first day was one of those tearful, clinging-on-to-dear-mommy moments, but did she have fun?  Yes!!!  Now, we’re only on day 3, and she happily enters the classroom at drop-off with a big, “BYE!” to mommy.  Hey, what about my hug???  Let go of what’s comfortable.

As for myself, the best remedy is to just force myself to get outside and explore.  I relate to being like a puzzle piece.  At first, I am only one puzzle piece on the center of the table.  But when I am outside discovering new fantastic places that are all around me, I begin to grow.  Different puzzle pieces start connecting to me, and as the picture grows larger and larger, I begin to see what all this change has brought into my life: new knowledge, new experiences, and new appreciation.  Embrace change.

Exploratorium Shadow Exhibit

3-2-1 … CHEESE!!! Having fun at the shadow exhibit at the Exploratorium.

Notice that the stiffest tree is most easily cracked, while the bamboo or willow survives by bending with the wind.

– Bruce Lee

3 thoughts on “Embracing Change

Leave a Reply

