Power Yoga Playlist – “When the Fog Rolls In”

In many of the yoga classes I teach, I choose not to use music because I really love getting students to focus on the beautiful sounds of their breath throughout class.  Once in a while though, I happen to hear a bunch of songs that really speak to me about whatever I’m going through at that moment, and I want to flow to them.

My latest playlist is about 70 minutes long and it is appropriate for a Vinyasa or Power Yoga class.  I’ve named the playlist after one of the songs by Train, “When the Fog Rolls In,” because most of the songs are sharing about some sort of obstacle, pain, hurt, or experience, where you can really hear the artists’ hearts pouring out.

At any given point, we all experience some “fog rolling in,” whether it’s heartache, stress, or maybe just fatigue.  When we get on our yoga mats, we give ourselves the chance to work through that fog.  You may be weighed down by a heavy heart, but your practice will lighten and free you.  You may have a million things to do, but prioritize your physical health and mental sanity first, so that you can take care of other things.  You may be tired when you start class, but you will be energized when you finish.

DancingPhoto Credit: ‘Dancing’ by mccauleys-corner under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

*****

I hope you love these songs as much as I do, and I hope that you can always find the way to your yoga mat, especially when the fog rolls in your life.  Let’s dance!

*****

Power Yoga Playlist – “When the Fog Rolls In”

Introduction / Pose Breakdown / Breathwork:

1. “All That I’m Asking For,” by Lifehouse, 72bpm, 3:54

2. “I Can Barely Say,” by The Fray, 81bpm, 4:20

Sun Salutations A & B:

3. “Satellite Heart (Air Mail Remix),” by Anya Marina, 152bpm/76bpm, 3:31

4. “Glowing,” by The Script, 79bpm, 4:47

Standing Work Series:

5. “Beneath Your Beautiful (feat. Emeli Sande),” by Labrinth, 84bpm, 4:32

6. “Only You,” by Joshua Radin, 98bpm, 2:28

7. “Burning Bridges,” by OneRepublic, 98bpm, 4:18

8. “Turn to Stone,” by Ingrid Michaelson, 106bpm, 4:36

9. “What You Wanted,” by OneRepublic, 120bpm, 4:01

Core Work:

10. “Goodbye My Lover,” by James Blunt, 95bpm, 4:19

11. “When the Fog Rolls In,” by Train, 85bpm, 4:21

Deep Stretching:

12. “Fall For You,” by Secondhand Serenade, 85bpm, 3:06

13. “What If You,” by Joshua Radin, 87bpm, 4:37

14. “I’m Through,” by Ingrid Michaelson, 74bpm, 3:28

15. “When I Was Your Man,” by Bruno Mars, 73bpm, 3:34

Savasana and Closing:

16. “Hamburg Song,” by Keane, 122bpm/61bpm, 4:37

17. “Flightless Bird, American Mouth,” by Iron & Wine, 78bpm, 4:03

*****

“Your worst days are never so bad that you are beyond the reach of grace.  And your best days are never so good that you are beyond the need of God’s grace.”

~ Jerry Bridges

*****

“Some of the secret joys of living are not found by rushing from point A to point B, but by inventing some imaginary letters along the way.”

~ Douglas Pagels

*****

“Our job is to look and say, ‘You know what? You’re imperfect, and you’re wired for struggle, but you are worthy of love and belonging.'”

~ Brene Brown

*****

“These days, my practice is teaching me to embrace imperfection; to have compassion for all the ways things haven’t turned out as I planned, in my body and in my life – for the ways things keep falling apart, and failing, and breaking down.  It’s less about fixing things, and more about learning to be present for exactly what is.”

~ Anne Cushman

*****

“Yoga is a way to freedom.  By its constant practice, we can free ourselves from fear, anguish, and loneliness.’

~ Indra Devi

2 thoughts on “Power Yoga Playlist – “When the Fog Rolls In”

  1. What a lovely post Grace! You read my mind, I wanted to ask you last night and the week before what music you were playing but decided not to…thank you!

    • Oh I’m so happy to hear that Mona! Yes, I had a strong feeling to share the playlist last night after class so I stayed up until 2am to write the post. Maybe it was just for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

